Multiple Teams · 2019-20 Bay High School Winter Sports Awards Recognition

2019-20 Bay High School Winter Sports Awards Recognition

Although we were not able to recognize our winter sports athletes, coaches, and teams at the annual awards banquet, we wanted to take this time to recognize all athletes, coaches and teams that earned conference, district, and state honors along with athletes that broke school records.  Check out the special video above.  We would also like to recognize each team’s special awards in the article below.  

Boys Basketball

Scholar Athlete: Will Burlingame

PCA Triple Impact Competitor: Zak Crabb 

Honorable Mention GLCZak Crabb, Sam Houk and Jake Martin

2nd Team GLCCullen Gergye

1st  Team GLCAshton Price 

Honorable Mention, Northeast Lakes All DistrictCullen Gergye and Sam Houk

2nd Team, Northeast Lakes All District: Ashton Price

Honorable Mention, DII All-OhioAshton Price

Ray Klein MVP: Ashton Price

Rich Voiers Coaches AwardCullen Gergye

T3 Morning Journal Player of the WeekCullen Gergye and Ashton Price

Nominated for Best Player in Morning Journal Coverage AreaAshton Price

Honorable Mention, Morning Journal All Area: Cullen Gergye, Sam Houk

1st Team, Morning Journal All AreaAshton Price

Jersey Mike’s Courage Award: Michael Beauchesne

School Records:

Most Points Scored in a Game with 47Ashton Price

Highest scoring average in a season with 24.2Ashton Price

Most Points Scored in a Game with 107TEAM

Girls Basketball

Scholar Athlete: Grace Chilton

PCA Triple Impact Competitor: Grace Chilton

 Honorable Mention GLC: Caroline Fowles and Audrey Hyland

2nd Team GLCBarbara Aldridge

1st Team GLCHaley Andrejcak

Honorable Mention, Northeast Lakes All DistrictBarbara Aldridge

2nd Team, Northeast Lakes All DistrictHaley Andrejcak

Honorable Mention, All-Ohio: Haley Andrejcak


MVP: Haley Andrejcak

Cathy Wallace Award: Chaeli Ziebarth

Most ImprovedAudrey Hyland

3rd Year Medal: Barbara Aldridge, Marissa Gura, Jennifer Hanslik, Audrey Hyland and Kayla Koz

4th Year Plaque: Haley Andrejcak

School Records:

Most 3-point field goals in a season with 59Barbara Aldridge

Most 3-point field goals in a game with 8 (tie)Barbara Aldridge

Most 3-point field goals in a season with 163TEAM

Most wins in a season with 20TEAM


Scholar Athlete: Cara Radcliffe

PCA Triple Impact Competitor: Samantha Steiskal

Varsity Spirit Award: Arina Wade

Most Improved: Cara Radcliffe

Coaches Award: Amanda Vargics


Scholar Athlete: Sophia Beauchesne

PCA Triple Impact Competitor: Nathan Rosenhaus

2nd Team, Blue South All StarsCollin Drake

GCHSHL Senior All Star GameCollin Drake

4th Year Plaques: Collin Drake

MVP: Lauren Schwartz

Forward MVP: Collin Drake

Defensive MVP: Cecily Priemer

Most Improved: Brendan Knapp

Rookie of the Year: Nolan Cain

Unsung Hero: Ted Donahue

School Records:

Saves in a Game with 63Lauren Schwartz

Swimming and Diving

Scholar Athletes: Danielle Gaudino and Eric Oxsalida

PCA Triple Impact Competitor: Kelsey Reid and Connor Starowesky


Honorable Mention, GLC100 breaststroke and 200 IM – Nina LaRosa; 100 Freestyle – Claire Lindway

2nd Team, GLC:  200 Freestyle Relay and 200 Medley Relay – Nina LaRosa, Claire Lindway, Maja Miedza and Kelsey Reid 

Sectional Runners-up: TEAM

District Qualifiers: 1M Diving – Lilly Allan; 200 Freestyle – Abigail Donahue; 50 Freestyle – Danielle Gaudino, Claire Lindway, Maja Miedza and Dori Szelesta; 100 Freestyle – Danielle Gaudino and Maja Miedza; 100 Backstroke – Dori Szelesta; 200 IM and 100 breaststroke – Nina LaRosa; 200 Free Relay and 200 Medley Relay – Nina LaRosa, Claire Lindway, Maja Miedza and Kelsey Reid; 400 Free Relay – Abbie Dent, Abbey Donahue, Danielle  Guadino, Regan Milligan

State Qualifiers: 50 Freestyle – Maja Miedza (6th), 100 Freestyle – Maja Miedza (10th); 200 Freestyle Relay – Nina LaRosa, Claire Lindway, Maja Miedza and Kelsey Reid (12th); 200 Medley Relay – Nina LaRosa, Claire Lindway, Maja Miedza and Kelsey Reid(10th)

Alternate State QualifiersAbigail Donahue, Danielle Gaudino and Jossi Meaux

All- OhioMaja Miedza

Girls Captains: Lilly Allan, Danielle Gaudino and Kelsey Reid

Junior Captain:Abigail Donahue

Team MVP: Maja Miedza 

Rookie of the Year: Nina LaRosa

Most Improved: Kaylee Buehler

Most Versatile: Jossi Meaux

Coaches AwardAddie Dent, Caitlyn Hartzell and Rachel Rankin

Hardest Worker: Emily Bergmann

Most Dedicated: Regan Milligan

Sportsmanship Award: Lilly Allan and Danielle Gaudino

3rd Year Medals: Abigail Donahue, Jossi Meaux, and Dori Szelesta

4th Year Plaques: Lilly Allan, Danielle Gaudino, Maja Miedza and Kelsey Reid

School Records:

200 Freestyle RelayNina LaRosa, Claire Lindway, Maja Miedza and Kelsey Reid- 1:41.23 


Honorable Mention, GLC50 and 100 Freestyle – Simon Miedza; 500 Freestyle – Drew Trnavsky

2nd Team, GLC1M Diving- Ryan Mason; 100 Breaststroke – Mason Hewko

1st Team, GLC1M Diving- Liam Pellow (GLC Champion)

District Qualifiers1M Diving – Ryan Mason and Liam Pellow; 50 Freestyle – Simon Miedza; 100 Breaststroke and 100 Butterfly – Mason Hewko; 200 Freestyle Relay – Charlie Dent, Mason Hewko – Simon Miedza, Matthew Rosler; 200 Medley Relay – Mason Hewko, Simon Miedza, Matthew Rosler, Connor Starowesky

State Qualifier1M Diving- Liam Pellow (17th)

Team MVPMason Hewko and Liam Pellow

Rookie of the Year: Parker Lake

Coaches Award: Jacob Dodd, Mason Hewko, and Connor Staroweksy

Most Improved: Ethan Myers

Most Versatile: Ryan Mason and Drew Trnavsky

Hardest Worker: Mason Hewko

Sportsmanship Award: Jacob Dodd

Captain Award: Mason Hewko

3rd  Year Medal: Eric Oxsalida and Hayden Stratford

4th Year PlaqueJacob Dodd and Mason Hewko


Scholar Athlete: Nick LaRosa

PCA Triple Impact Competitor: Quinn Sanfillipo 

Honorable Mention GLCEthan Taylor

2nd Team GLCJack Hildebrand, Stephen Tepper

1st Team GLCMason Cover, Sage Long, Klevin Mici and Quinn Sanfilippo

Sectional Runners-up: TEAM

District QualifiersSam Brenneman, Mason Cover, Michael Kasunick, Sage Long (Sectional Champ), Griffen Novotny (Sectional Champ) Klevin Mici, Quinn Sanfilippo (Sectional Champ), Stephen Tepper 

State QualifiersStephen Tepper and Klevin Mici (alternates)

3rd Year MedalSam Brenneman, Mason Cover, Nick LaRosa,

Sage Long and Griffen Novotny

4th Year PlaqueMichael Kasunick, Klevin Mici and Stephen Tepper

Most Wins: Klevin Mici

Most Pins: Klevin Mici 

Rocket AwardStephen Tepper and Klevin Mici

3D Award (Desire, Determination and Dedication): Mason Cover

Most Improved- throughout the seasonAshton Mazey

Most Improved- since last seasonMichael Kasunick

100th win: Coach Ryan Cover

School Records:

Fastest Pin- 8 seconds(tie)Klevin Mici

Most Pins in a Season with 38Klevin Mici

For a printable copy of the program, click on the link below: